HOME Media Kit Advertising Contact Us About Us


Web The Truth

Community Calendar

Dear Ryan


Online Issues

Send a Letter to the Editor



Scott Alumni Association Holds Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony

Sojournerís Truth Staff

On March 24, 2018, the Jesup W. Scott High School Alumni Association welcomed 11 graduates into its Hall of Fame with a luncheon and induction ceremony at The Pinnacle. The ceremony also included the presentation of the 2018 Scholarship Recipients Ė 10 Scott students bound for college.

The Hall of Fame program began in 1981 in an effort to honor Scott alumni who had achieved notable success in a range of areas Ė business, the arts, the professions, government an community service. After 1987, the inductions ended and the Alumni Association became inactive. The Association was re-organized in 2006 and the Hall of Fame induction ceremony began again in 2016.

This third induction ceremony in the revived series featured a welcome by hosts Tara Ali, class of 1977 and the Membership Committee Chairman, and Richard Eppstein, class of 1965 and the vice president of the Alumni Association who also presented a brief history of the school.

Scott Principal Carnel Smith, EdD

Scholarship recipients

This yearís inductees included: Allan Jerome Chabler, Jerry Chabler, Vallie Bowman-English, Theresa M. Gabriel, Juanita Greene, Frank D. Jacobs, Gus Nicolaidis, Clarence R. Smith, Jr, Larry Sykes, Roy Treuhaft and Henry Triplett.

Allan Jerome Chabler (Class of 1953) became an attorney who became an assistant Ohio attorney general under two administrations and a staff attorney for the Lucas County Recorderís Office, during and in between his 51 years in private practice.

Jerry Chabler, Allanís twin, was a member of the Toledo Police Department before entering real estate and forming the Greater Toledo Development Company Ė owner of numerous apartment complexes. Jerry Chabler, an active member of the Lucas County Democratic Party served in numerous positions in city, county and state governments, receiving appointments from Mayors Carty Finkbeiner and Jack Ford, along with Governors Gilligan, Rhodes, Celeste and Strickland. Most recently he has been a member of the Ohio State Lottery Commission, the Ohio Casino Control Commission and the Ohio State Racing Commission.

Vallie Bowman-English (1987), an attorney, earned her law degree from the Ohio Northern University College of Law and joined the Lucas County Prosecutorís Office. In 2003, she was elected the City of Toledo Clerk of Court and has held that position ever since. During her tenure she has implemented real-time daa entry in courtrooms, increased public access to the courtís records and developed a mobile court app. In 2016, she became the first minority president of the Toledo Bar Association in its 138 year history.

Theresa Gabriel (1955) has a long history of public service. Currently the deputy director of the Lucas County Board of Elections, Gabriel has served as a City Councilwoman, assistant chief of staff in the Finkbeiner administration, director of the Department of Human Resources, Clerk of Toledo Municipal Court, director of Department of Parks, Recreation and Forestry, among other positions during her many years with the City of Toledo. She is also a past president of the Toledo NAACP.

Juanita Green (1968). A former banker, Greene began her career with Toledo Trust Bank and eventually became a loan officer with Society, now Key Bank. She entered public service as Housing Commissioner during the Finkbeiner administration, then Economic Development Director, before being named executive director of the Board of Community Relations.

Frank Jacobs (1953), an attorney, is also a CPA. He ultimately became a partner with Eastman & Smith, Ltd, Toledoís oldest law firm. He has been a member of the Toledo Community Foundation, Toledo Law Association, Toledo Lucas County Public Library Legacy Foundation, Toledo Opera, UT Foundation and Toledo Symphony Orchestra Board.

Gus Nicolaidis (1963), a restaurateur, started his career working with his father at Nickís Hot Dog on Dorr Street. Over the years he has owned and operated 11 restaurants in the Toledo area including the Hungry I, Avenue Bistro and the City Diner. His last venture is La Scola Italian Grill on Airport Highway.

Clarence Smith (1965) is an educator, musician, director, producer and consultant. In 1976 he founded the Clarence Smith Community Chorus dedicated to the perpetuation of the Negro Spiritual. The Chorus is the oldest functioning artistic organization in the Toledo African-American community.. Smith has also served as chairman of the board for WGTE Public Radio and Television, board member of the Toledo Zoo and board member of the Toledo School for the Arts.

Larry Sykes (1967) is one of the most active, visible members of the Toledo African-American community due to his many years of service with community organizations and as an elected official. A former boxer in his youth, Sykes was the community affairs officer for Fifth Third Bank for more than 30 years. He served on the Toledo Board of Education for 12 years and is currently a Toledo City Councilman. He has served on boards such as Metroparks, Lucas Metropolitan Housing Authority, Lucas County Children Services, St. Vincent Mercy Medical Center, among many others.

Roy Treuhaft (1934) was a realtor for a number of years, retiring in 1991 as president of Michael Realty, the largest commercial-industrial real estate firm in northwest Ohio. He was involved in numerous civic, professional and religious organizations Ė a board member of the Medical College of Ohio, the Toledo Board of Realtors, the Toledo Development Committee, among others. He died in April 2017 at the age of 100.

This yearís scholarship recipients were: Ayden Braziel, Keyonna Carnes, Nikaija Colbert, Zhane Crockett, Kennedy Harper, Tiana Jones, Tiara Jones, Antonia Mitchell-El, Ramona Stephenson and Jayona Wren.

Avie Dixon, Scott Class of 1964 and a long-time teacher at her alma mater, is president of the Alumni Association. The Hall of Fame Committee consists of: Zahra Collins, chairwoman; Rochelle Dunning, co-chairwoman; Doris Jones, correspondence & sales; Tara Ali; Vernice Blanchard; Donald Steve Cole; Richard Eppstein; Susan Hirsch, Patricia Squire and Stan Odesky.



Copyright © 2018 by [The Sojourner's Truth]. All rights reserved.
Revised: 08/16/18 14:12:10 -0700.



More Articles....

Area Youth March to Put an End to Gun Violence


The Glass City Natural Hair Symposium Brings Curls, Culture and Commerce to the Local Community


The Cotillion etiquette Seminar and Luncheon

Over 200 Deltas Visit Toledo For Regional Foundersí Day Conference


Back to Home Page